The power of fandoms and the impact they have on us

Sometimes you never know what someone else is going through. You never know what heartache, pain, or trials someone else is facing. And everyone has their outlet for it. For some it’s drugs, alcohol, partying. And then there are those that turn to fandoms.

I speak from experience when I say that this is me. That I was one of those people who turned to fictional worlds and characters to escape from the things I had to face. My first fandoms were Star Wars and Lord of the Rings and I invested my time into these characters and their worlds for the first time when I was in fourth grade and dealing with my parents divorce. My friends didn’t get it because they didn’t have divorced parents. These fandoms and characters became my escape from having to deal with the divorce and the hell that was fourth grade,

When I was a freshman in high school I was diagnosed with Lupus, for those of you who don’t know what it is it is an autoimmune disease. It is very painful and there is no cure, symptoms can be treated with medication. To a 14 year old who just had their world turned upside down fandoms became a place of relief.

It was in this time that I became sucked into the fandom world permanently. Doctor Who was the new fandom I became a part of, Matt Smith’s first series. I was quickly pulled into the show and re-watched everything before the series I was on. I became invested in the characters and the worlds they were in. Then came Torchwood, Merlin, Hunger Games, Maze Runner, Angel, and Buffy. I reacquainted myself with things that I had seen before but hadn’t really gotten into: Star Trek, Planet of the Apes, Marvel, and DC. I entered into these fandoms and more and lost myself if them. They became a major part of my life and somewhere along the way I went from being a casual fan to a dedicated fangirl.

I no longer need my fandoms as an escape from reality, well, not as much as once did. I don’t rely on them like a crutch like I once did. But I wouldn’t give them up. Not for anything. My fandoms are a huge part of my life. They helped shape me into the person that I am now. I wouldn’t trade that. I love my fandoms, I love the characters and the stories. I love the people I’ve met because of my fandoms.

I am a fangirl, and my fandoms help keep me sane. I don’t need them anymore but I won’t give them up because my fandoms are family. Don’t be ashamed of the fandoms you’re in and don’t let people tear you down for spending so much time in them, because they don’t know you or what you’re going through. Just remember that fandom means family and that there are plenty of fangirls/boys out there who you can talk to.

What fandoms are you’re escape?

Leave a Reply

